Home : Contact Us : Site Map : Franšais  
Organization Profile
Membership & Partnership
CPRA Awards
Framework for Recreation in Canada
CPRA Professional Development Certification
Everybody Gets to Play
Volunteer Opportunities
CPRA Board
Toolkits & Products
Corporate Sponsorship & Advertising Opportunities
Research Connections
Canadian Playground Safety Institute
Position Statements
Job Board
CPRA Projects


2017 CPRA Awards Program 

CPRA is currently accepting nominations for the 2017 CPRA Awards Program. The Awards are presented to individuals/ organizations / corporations (including a municipality or government agency/department) who have demonstrated a high level of commitment, passion and leadership on a national level to the parks and recreation sector.

  • CPRA Award of Merit - recognizes an individual/organization/corporation for an outstanding contribution to achievements in each province and territory. The nominee will have contributed to a municipal, regional or provincial success which has national implications in the sector. This achievement will have contributed to the advancement of parks and recreation regionally and nationally.  (Nominations submitted throughout 2017)
  • CPRA President's Award of Distinctionrecognizes the exceptional contributions or long term commitment, of an individuals who have worked towards the advancement the parks and recreation agenda on a national level.   This recipient will have shown excellent leadership and long lasting dedication to the parks and recreation sector on a national scale.  (Nominations submitted January 1 - March 31, 2017)
  • CPRA Partnership Award  - recognizes national / provincial sector partners whose collaboration, creativity, and innovation, enriches individual health and community well-being and enhances the parks and recreation community in Canada. (Nominations submitted January 1 - March 31, 2017)

All nominations will be made by CPRA Provincial and Territorial Member Associations.  

For more information on the CPRA Awards Program, please contact info@pra.ca or your local Provincial or Territorial Parks and Recreation Association.

CPRA Award descriptions and nomination criteria. 

2016 CPRA Award Recipients

CPRA President's Award of Distinction

  • Barbara Hill (AB)

CPRA Partnership Award

  • University of Alberta Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation

  • HIGH FIVE Canada

CPRA Awards of Merit

  • Tim Burton (AB) 
  • Marc-Andre Lavigne (QC)
  • Frank Quinn (PEI) 
  • Jason Tologanak (NU)
  • HIGH FIVE - Janie Romoff, Nina de Vaal, Joanne Russell (ON)

2015 CPRA Award Recipients

CPRA President's Award of Distinction

  • Randy Kinnee (SK) 


CPRA Awards of Merit

  • John Macintyre (ON) 
  • John Maurice (NU)
  • Shane Thompson (NWT)
  • Chris Szabo (AB)
  • Ian Reid (NB)
  • Brenda Robertson (NS)
  • André Thibault (QC)
  • Caroline Sparks (YU)


2014 Award Recipients 

CPRA President's Award of Distinction 

  • Don Hunter (BC) 

CPRA Award of Merit Recipients

  • Jennifer Reynolds (ON)
  • Chris Nelson (BC)
  • Rick Gilbert (NS)
  • Randy Kinnee (SK)
  • Romeyn Stevenson (NU)  
  • Shelley Shea (AB)
  • Nancy McMinn (PEI)



Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!








1-877-536-2338 (Toll-Free)


Canadian Parks and Recreation Association
1180 Walkley Road, PO Box 83069, Ottawa, ON, K1V 2M5
Tel: (613) 523-5315
E-mail: info@cpra.ca

    © Copyright Canadian Parks and Recreation Association (CPRA), All Rights Reserved