CPRA Awards Program

CPRA is currently accepting nominations for the 2017 CPRA Awards Program. The Awards are presented to individuals / organizations / corporations (including a municipality or government agency / department) who have demonstrated a high level of commitment, passion and leadership on a national level to the parks and recreation sector.

  • CPRA Award of Merit -  provides national recognition to an individual / organization / community group / corporation for an outstanding contribution in the parks and recreation sector in each province and territory. The nominee will have contributed to a municipal, regional, provincial or national success in the sector. This achievement will have contributed to the advancement of parks and recreation regionally and/or nationally. (Nominations submitted throughout 2017)

  • CPRA President's Award of Distinction - recognizes the exceptional contributions or long term commitment, of an individual who has worked towards the advancement the parks and recreation agenda on a national level. This recipient will have shown excellent leadership and long lasting dedication to the parks and recreation sector on a national scale. (Nominations submitted January 1 - March 31, 2017)
  • CPRA Partnership Award - recognizes national / provincial sector partners whose collaboration, creativity, and innovation, enriches individual health and community well-being and enhances the parks and recreation community in Canada. (Nominations submitted January 1 - March 31, 2017)

All nominations will be made by CPRA Provincial and Territorial Member Associations.  

For more information on the CPRA Awards Program, please contact info@cpra.ca or your local Provincial or Territorial Parks and Recreation Association.

2016 CPRA Award Recipients

CPRA President's Award of Distinction

  • Barbara Hill (AB)

CPRA Partnership Award

  • University of Alberta Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation
  • HIGH FIVE Canada

CPRA Award of Merit

  • Marc-André Lavigne -  Quebec
  • Jason Tologanak - Nunavut
  • Tim Burton - Alberta
  • HIGH FIVE (Janie Romoff, Nina de Vaal, Joanne Russell)  - Ontario
  • Susanne Moore - Manitoba

Click below to view past award recipients

Harry Boothman Bursary 

CPRA supports Professional Development through Bursary Program

The Canadian Parks and Recreation Association (CPRA) has launched a bursary program to assist parks and recreation professionals financially in the pursuit of professional development in the sector.

This Bursary was established to honour the contributions of Harry Boothman to the parks and recreation sector.  Harry was a Parks Supervisor for the City of Calgary, CPRA Board Member and long-time supporter of the organization.  Harry believed in the need for actions that support the continued development of the field. Establishing this bursary, in support of Professional Development within the sector, is a tribute to Harry’s vision and dedication.

Applications will be accepted from Parks and Recreation practitioners with a minimum of five (5) years’ experience and currently working full-time in the sector.

Up to two (2) bursaries, in the amount of $1,000, each can be awarded each year.  

Professional Development opportunities must be completed between July 1 and June 30 of the application year.

Deadlines for applications – March 31 of every year.

Click here to download a pdf of the application form

All applications should be submitted by mail to:

CPRA Harry Boothman Bursary
c/o the Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association
#100 - 1445 Park Street
Regina, Saskatchewan S4N 4C5
Or, electronically to: khouse@spra.sk.ca

Click below view past recipients of the Harry Boothman Bursary