CPRA Board of Directors

To view the bios for each board member click the plus sign "+" beside their name.

Mike Powell - President (SPRA)

+ Michael Cleland – CPRA President (Parks and Recreation Ontario)

Michael Cleland lives in Port Credit with his young family. His education and background in recreation, tourism and urban planning are constantly in action in his current role as Area Manager for the Hershey Facilities, Sports & Community Development at the City of Mississauga. His travels abroad count 65 countries with long-term assignments in Ireland, Wales, Kuwait and Ghana. Michael is a Past President of Parks and Recreation Ontario, a former Governor on the National Board of Governors for Scouts Canada, and the Past President of the Rotary Club of Mississauga Lakeshore.

Mike Roma - ARPA

+ Mike Roma – Alberta Recreation and Parks Association

Mike Roma is a partner at RC Strategies+PERC, a consulting firm specializing in recreation and parks planning. Mike is the past President of the Alberta Recreation and Parks Association and has also served on the Leisure Information Network Board and the Recreation for Life Foundation Board. Mike has been involved in the recreation and parks sector for over 15 years and truly believes in the benefits of these essential services to the individual, community, and environment. Mike is an active volunteer, participant, and coach and lives in Sherwood Park, Alberta with his family of four.

Julie Fortin - AQLM

+ Linda Gagnon – Association québécoise du loisir municipal

Détentrice d’un baccalauréat en activité physique et d’un MBA de l’université de Sherbrooke, Linda est directrice du service culture, sports et vie communautaire à la ville de Magog, depuis plus de 20 ans et dans le milieu municipal depuis 25 ans. Elle est aussi en charge de l’entretien et du développement des parcs et espaces verts de sa municipalité.

Elle est la représentante de la région de l’Estrie au CA de l’AQLM(association québécoise du loisirs municipal depuis plusieurs années) elle est impliquée dans son milieu, particulièrement dans le milieu sportifs comme bénévole lors des événements de masse. Elle s’entraine régulièrement en plein-air en vue de compétitions sportives de toutes sortes. Elle est mère de 2 adolescents.

Ron Higo - BCRPA

+ Heather Turner – BC Recreation and Parks Association

Heather Turner is the Director - North Vancouver Recreation & Culture Commission.

Heather holds a Bachelor of Arts in Recreation Administration; University of Alberta and International Leisure Studies; University of Edinburgh. She is a passionate leader and volunteer; currently on the Board of Directors of BCRPA and Diving Plongeon Canada, supplemented with judging diving nationally and internationally. Heather is past President of CPRA and is excited to be renewing her role on the Board of Directors.

She is an avid fitness enthusiast who also enjoys continuous learning, innovative approaches and family/friend time

Tony Devlin - NWTRPA

+ Tim Van Dam – NWT Recreation and Parks Association

Howie Dayton-2015 head shot.jpg

+ Howie Dayton - Parks and Recreation Ontario

Howie Dayton is the Director of Community Recreation for the City of Toronto joining the City in 2015. He is Past President of Parks and Recreation Ontario, Founding Chair of the Ontario Playworks Partnership for Youth and former Task Force Chair responsible for the Affordable Access to Recreation Policy Framework for Ontario.

Howie has worked in several GTA municipalities in progressive positions both in the recreation and social service sectors. He has continued to champion policies that position community recreation, after school and youth development programs as a public good and an essential service that improves quality of life and builds community resiliency.

Ron Epp - RCM

+ Donna Watts – Recreation Connections Manitoba

Donna has been working in the recreation field for the past twelve years, and believes strongly in recreation's contribution to developing healthy, vibrant communities. Donna is the Recreation Director for the Lac du Bonnet and Pinawa communities in Manitoba and is serving her third two year term on the Recreation Connections MB Board of Directors. She has a passion for grant writing and road trips and is a proud mom of three boys.

Dana Purton-Dickson - RNB

+ Dana Purton-Dickson – Recreation New Brunswick

Dana is the current President of Recreation New Brunswick. She is also the Director of Community Services for the Town of Quispamsis, a community of 19,000 where she has lived and worked for the past 20 years. She is active in her community on a variety of committees as well as regionally as President of the Fundy Region Professionals Association. Dana has previously served as president, board member and advocacy committee chair at Recreation New Brunswick as well as a board member and advocacy committee member of CPRA. . Dana has represented New Brunswick at P/T Member meetings as well as the National Framework Committee meetings. Dana has also volunteered internationally with the Federation of Canadian Municipalities CARILED (Caribbean Local Economic Development) Program.

Tina Auchinleck-Ryan - RNL

+ Steve Martin – Recreation Newfoundland and Labrador


Meg Cuming - RNS

+ Kerri Penney – Recreation Nova Scotia

Kerri Penney has been working as Community Development and Recreation Director in the Municipality of the District of St. Mary’s in rural Nova Scotia for the past four years. During that time, Kerri received a diploma in Recreation and Leisure Services online from Canadore College to add to her Broadcast Journalism diploma from the Nova Scotia Community College. Kerri is passionate about the sustainability of rural communities in Nova Scotia and loves to think outside the box when it comes to recreation and community development. She spends much of her time working alongside residents and organizations in St. Mary’s to think big and get creative in how programs and services are offered. Kerri spends much of her free time in the outdoors with her black lab Ruger and tries to be an example for women to get more involved in outdoor activities such as archery, ATVing, hunting, fishing and exploring.

Fred Muise - RPAN

+ Rob Strutz – Recreation and Parks Association of Nunavut

Ian Spencer - RPAY

+ Adrienne Marsh – Recreation and Parks Association of the Yukon

Nancy McMinn - RPEI

+ Nancy McMinn – Recreation PEI

Nancy graduated from the University of Waterloo with a degree in Environmental Studies, and she completed her Master of Public Administration through the University of Western Ontario. Nancy has worked across Canada, in Ontario, Alberta and Prince Edward Island; her area of interests includes, education, natural areas, forestry, municipal parks planning and management. Currently she is working on Prince Edward Island as the Parks Superintendent for the City of Charlottetown Parks & Recreation Department. Nancy is an inaugural member of the Canadian Parks & Recreation Association (CPRA) Parks Task Force established in 2007 and represents Recreation PEI on the CPRA Board.

Dawna Nielson - SPRA

+ Coralie Bueckert – Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association